Faculty Senate President’s Message

Welcome! The Arkansas Baptist College’s Faculty Senate represents all faculties of the College actively participating in College governance concerning educational and related matters affecting the welfare of the College and its community. Working in the spirit of collaboration, and transparency the Faculty Senate’s committees focus on challenges integral to the advancement of the College.We welcome your full participation as a full-time and part-time faculty member and encourage your contributions and ideas!

Emmanuel Scales, Sr., President 

Faculty Senate

The Arkansas Baptist College Faculty Senate is the representative body through which faculty participates in College affairs and shared governance. The Senate provides a basis for official consideration of policies, procedures, and concerns affecting the well-being and operations of the College and serves as a liaison between the faculty, Academic Council and/or College President. The Faculty Senate shall be empowered to act for and on behalf of the faculty and shall express the opinion of the faculty on all matters laid before the Faculty Senate.


The Faculty Senate is the representative body of the faculty at Arkansas Baptist College.  According to the Senate constitution, its role is to review university policies in all areas pertaining to academics (e.g. curriculum, standards, academic programs,  faculty affairs, continuing education), to review policy proposals that are approved from the college’s standing committees, to represent the faculty in matters relating to faculty welfare, and to select faculty members for service on standing university committees.


Faculty Submission of Issues

All concerns and proposals from faculty members may be submitted in writing to the Faculty Senate email (faculty.senate@arkansasbaptist.edu).  

One of the executive committee members will submit the issue (concern or proposal) to the appropriate Faculty Senate Committee.

Senate Officers

President – Emmanuel Scales, Sr.
Vice-President – Tabatha Scott 
Scribe/Treasure – JoAnn Scales